Monday, March 18, 2013

SEAC - Charles N Reilley and Young Investigators Awards

Henry White, University of Utah

02:00 PM   Introductory Remarks -
02:05 PM   Presentation
02:10 PM   Electrochemical Measurements of Transmitters in Flies, at Cells, and From Transmitter Vesicles
02:45 PM   Advances in Fast-Scan Cyclic Voltammetry for Detection of Neurotransmitters
03:20 PM   A New Take on an Old Concept: Electrochemical Interface Studies by the Technique ‘Formerly Known As’ Emersion
03:55 PM   Presentation
04:00 PM   Fluorescence-Enabled Electrochemistry and Single-Cell Imaging
04:35 PM   Analysis Through Electrochemistry of Single Particles

Andrew G Ewing, University of Chalmers, will receive the 2013 Charles N Reilley award. Andrew G. Ewing received his BS degree from St. Lawrence University and a PhD from Indiana University. After a postdoc at the University of North Carolina he joined the faculty at Penn State University for 25 years. He is now Professor at Chalmers University of Technology and the University of Gothenburg, Sweden. His group has pioneered small-volume chemical measurements at single cells, electrochemical detection for capillary electrophoresis, novel approaches for electrochemical imaging of single cells, and new electrochemical strategies to separate individual nanometer vesicles from cells and quantify their contents. He is a member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Bo Zhang, University of Washington, will receive the 2013 Young Investigator Award, presented annually by the Society for Electroanalytical Chemistry (SEAC). Bo Zhang worked with Henry White and was awarded a Ph.D. in 2006. He started his independent career at University of Washington in 2008 after completing his postdoc training with Andy Ewing. His research has been focused on developing and using nanoelectrodes to study electrocatalysis of single nanoparticles and to perform nanoscale imaging of neuronal communication. His group has developed molecular-scale electrodes to study electrocatalytic properties of single nanoparticles. His group has also invented a fluorescence method to report electrochemical kinetics. He was awarded an Alfred Sloan Fellowship in 2012.