The SEAC - Charles N Reilley Award and Royce W Murray Awards

Hector Abruna, Cornell University

01:30 PM   Introductory Remarks -
01:35 PM   Presentation
01:40 PM   Single Crystal Reactivity as In-Situ Analytical Characterization Tool of Platinum Surfaces
02:15 PM   New Views of Platinum Surface Electrochemistry
02:50 PM   Themodynamic Studies of Electrochemical Interphases: Application to Platinum Single Crystal Electrodes
03:25 PM   Recess
03:40 PM   Presentation
03:45 PM   Versatile Electrochemical Probes for Emerging Concepts in Energy Materials
04:20 PM   Electrochemistry of Nanobubbles

Juan M. Feliu, University of Alicante, will receive the 2017 SEAC's Charles N. Reilley Award. He obtained his PhD by the University of Barcelona in 1978. His research interests deal with Surface Electrochemistry and Electrocatalysis, aiming to establish relationships between the electrochemical reactivity of metallic electrodes and their surface structure and composition. Juan was Director of the Institute of Electrochemistry of the University of Alicante from 2003 to 2012. He served as President of the International Society of Electrochemistry (2005-2006), is Editor-in Chief of the Journal of Electroanalytical Chemistry and received the Brian E. Conway Prize for Physical Electrochemistry in 2008.

Joaquin Rodriguez-Lopez, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, will receive the 2017 SEAC's Royce W. Murray Award. He performed undergraduate studies with Prof. Marcelo Videa at Tecnológico de Monterrey in Mexico, obtained a Ph.D. at the University of Texas at Austin with Allen J. Bard and did postdoctoral work with Héctor D. Abruña in Cornell University. Joaquin’s group combines interests in electroanalytical chemistry and energy materials by developing chemically-sensitive methods for studying ionic and electronic reactivity in polymer nanoparticles, surface nano-features, and ultra-thin electrodes. An emerging investigator, Joaquín aspires to build a dynamic group that creates original concepts for high-performance energy technologies.

This session will focus on fundamental aspects of Physical Electrochemistry (Charles N. Reilly Award) and Scanning Electrochemical microscopy, SECM (Royce W. Murray Award). The first part will address fundamental aspects of electrochemistry using single crystals, both bulk and nanoparticles, as a platform to address issues such as adsorption sites and electrocatalysis and their relationship to electrochemical reactivity. The second will deal with novel applications of scanning electrochemical microscopy to the study of electrochemical phenomena, as well as novel methods and architectures of redox flow batteries and related technologies.